The Medusa Tattoo

My tattoo of Medusa – a femme fatale

Medusa has always been a sexualized symbol of a women’s rage. She was depicted as exceptionally beautiful; this devastating beauty was her downfall by no fault of her own. Medusa was a priestess working in Athena’s temple, Poseidon took a liking to her and tried with his might to seduce her, however, she had taken a vow of celibacy to work at the temple. This rejection enraged Poseidon, he raped her in Athena’s temple. Athena was so enraged that her sacred space had been desecrated that she placed a curse on Medusa. She solely blamed Medusa for this violation, the curse gave her a head full of snakes and a stare that would turn men to stone.

Throughout history, the story of Medusa has been a male-centered narrative and she was described as a monstrosity with slithering locks and a deadly gaze. Medusa was subjected to this fate for what had happened to her, and Poseidon had no repercussion as he was a powerful male god who is meant to get what he wants. Throughout Greek mythology and art history, depictions of rape were not seen as a heinous crime but rather a divine right to the male characters. This has perpetuated rape culture and the culture of victim blaming.

Modern conversations on rape culture have given Medusa her voice back. She had become a symbol of strength for powerful women who have been raped and demonized by a patriarchal society. Many survivors of rape have gotten Medusas face tattooed onto them as a way to fight back against the narrative that victims should be blamed and punished for the assault. Women have started to take back their power. Her mane of writhing serpents has become a sign of protection against men, it became more of a blessing than a curse. She is an image of ‘evil’ that repels evil.

I recently got her image tattooed on my arm, I was 7 years old when my innocence was first taken from me, I was too young to understand so I buried that experience away. Then in 2015 I was raped by a friend, I was once again robbed of my right to have a choice . I spent 8 years of my life quiet because I saw how women were being treated once they speak out. Women need to dispel this idea that they must be punished if they were victimized.

I cannot be ashamed of what happened to me because it happened TO me, I didn’t ask for it and I didn’t cause it. But I will take back my power. This tattoo, though it may seem meaningless to most, made me feel empowered. I will no longer feel like less of a women because someone else overpowered me. This tattoo is my apotropaic symbol.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started